What Is

Diamond Clarity?

The clarity of a diamond is evaluated by how many blemishes or inclusions, and internal flaws, respectively, are visible under 10-power magnification. A diamond with no blemishes or inclusions would be considered flawless.

Diamond Clarity

Chart overview

Internal flaws, such as inclusions, are known as diamond inclusions. Dórnor rejects any diamond with visible flaws that the naked eye can see.

FL: Flawless are incredibly rare and have no flaws.

IF: Internally Flawless diamonds but have almost no flaws.

VVS: VVS1 and VVS2 diamonds have very, very slight inclusions.

VS: VS diamonds in clarity VS1 and VS2 are very "slightly included."

SI: SI diamonds as SI1 and SI2 are categorized as "slightly included."

I: I diamond as I1, I2, and I3 are categorized as "imperfect."

The Dórnor Standard of

Diamond Clarity

Dórnor's strict diamond grading standards are executed with expertise, integrity, and accuracy. When Dórnor believes a diamond's clarity is on the borderline between two grades, Dórnor will always assign the stone a lower grade— never falsely inflating a diamond clarity grade. Further, all diamonds above .50 carat come with an IGI certificate.

Does Diamond Clarity


Multiple inclusions within a diamond decrease its clarity grade and, as a result, the sparkle of the diamond. In addition, when light hits an inclusion, it scatters rather than reflects, making diamonds with inclusions appear less sparkly.