What is a

Diamond Carat

Carat is the weight of a diamond, not its size. Dórnor measures diamonds to 1/1000th; one carat equals .2 milligrams. One key factor determining a diamond's value is its weight – the diamond carat. And usually, the bigger the diamond, the more it costs. At Dórnor, we always favor cut rather than size-- it's all about making diamond jewelry stunning.

Carat of diamonds

What sets shapes apart from carat

Carat weight can vary according to diamond shapes such as round brilliant, princess, pear, oval, cushion, marquise, emerald, radiant, or heart. A diamond's carat weight may not indicate greater size if it has a higher carat weight but does not appear any more significant. In other words, while "carat weight" is sometimes used synonymously with "size," this isn't always the case.

Is a Higher

Carat Weight Better?

Although carat weight is not the only thing determining a diamond's value, many people think it is. Clarity, color, and cut are also important factors. It is rare to find large diamonds of excellent quality.

The difference between

Carat and Karat

A diamond is measured and specified in weight as a carat. A Carat should not be combined with Karat because Karat is used to define the purity of gold.



Brilliant cut in mm Carat Weight
0.8mm .0025 ct.
1.0mm .005 ct.
1.1mm .0067 ct.
1.2mm .009 ct.
1.25mm .01 ct.
1.3mm .01 ct.
1.5mm .015 ct.
1.75mm .02 ct.
1.8mm .025 ct.
2.0mm .03 ct.
2.2mm .04 ct.
2.5mm .06 ct.
2.75mm .08 ct.
3.0mm .10 ct.
3.25mm .14 ct.
3.5mm .17 ct.
3.75mm .21 ct.
4.0mm .25 ct.
4.25mm .28 ct.
4.5mm .36 ct.
4.75mm .44 ct.
5.0mm .50 ct.
5.25mm .56 ct.
5.5mm .66 ct.
5.75mm .75 ct.
6.0mm .84 ct.
6.25mm .93 ct.
6.5mm 1.00 ct.
6.8mm 1.25 ct.
Brilliant cut in mm Carat Weight
7.0mm 1.30 ct.
7.3mm 1.50 ct.
7.5mm 1.67 ct.
7.75mm 1.75 ct.
8.0mm 2.00 ct.
8.25mm 2.11 ct.
8.5mm 2.43 ct.
8.7mm 2.50 ct.
9.0mm 2.75 ct
9.1mm 3.00 ct.
9.5mm 3.35 ct.
9.75mm 3.61 ct.
10.0mm 3.87 ct.
10.25mm 4.16 ct.
10.5mm 4.41 ct.
10.75mm 4.57 ct.
11.0mm 4.91 ct.
11.25mm 5.49 ct.
11.5mm 5.85 ct.
12.0mm 6.84 ct.
12.25 ct. 7.26 ct.
12.5mm 7.36 ct.
12.75mm 7.52 ct.
13.0mm 8.51 ct.
13.5mm 9.53 ct.
14.0mm 10.49 ct.
15.0mm 12.89 ct.
16.0mm 16.06 ct.